The U.S. Department of Agriculture has issued a final rule amending the National List of Allowed and Prohibited Substances within the agency's organic regulations. The amended rule prohibits the use of eight substances in organic production and handling after June 27.

The substances include lignin sulfonate (for use as a floating agent); furosemide; magnesium carbonate; and the nonorganic forms of chia, dillweed oil, frozen galangal, frozen lemongrass, and chipotle chile peppers. Additionally, the rule renews the use of three substances on the National List. These substances include nonorganic forms of inulin-oligofructose enriched, Turkish bay leaves, and whey protein concentrate in organic products. 

Related: USDA: US Organic Operations Grow 13 Percent; Trump Proposes Big SNAP Cuts.