Back to Specialty Food News

SFA Names sofi Grand Honor Award Winners

2024 sofi grand award winner

The sofi Grand Honor Award winners were announced at the SFA Awards Gala at Lavan Midtown in New York City, Monday night. The event was hosted by celebrity chef and host of Top Chef, Kristen Kish.

“Winning a sofi Award is a doorway to invaluable business opportunities and global recognition,” she said.

The Outstanding Packaging Award went to Fanci Freez Strawberry Soft-Serve Milkshake.

“Their packaging effortlessly blends nostalgia with contemporary design, from vintage typography and eye-catching callout shapes to energetic, mouthwatering product photography, it’s a visual delight,” said creative director and founder at Buttermilk Creative, Andy Kurtts, who presented the award. 

Inside the product’s stand-up gusseted pouch, are two cups with straws that are microwavable in order to defrost the contents.

SFA named its sofi Gold Award winners in May. The top scoring products in eligible categories were anonymously tasted by buyers at the Summer Fancy Food Show on Sunday and Monday to determine the sofi Grand Award winners. 

The winner of the Product of the Year– Beverage Award is Bittermilk’s Barcoop Bevy Bloody Mary with Smoked Sea Salt and Chiles. The beverage has a touch of heat from a custom blend of chiles and light smoky undertones from local sea salt, smoked over bourbon barrels.

The Product of the Year-Food Award was given to Little Red Kitchen Bake Shop’s Molasses Spice Cookies made with organic unsulfured molasses, organic brown sugar, and a blend of spices.

The Outstanding New Product Award winner is Jane Foodie’s Flash Frozen Guinness Beef Stew, made with filet mignon, yukon potatoes, carrots, onions, and Guinness stout.  

The Outstanding Classic Award, which is reserved for a product that was introduced at least 5 years ago, went to Alef Sausage Co.’s Uncured Wagyu Beef Salami.

Also honored during the event were SFA’s 2024 Lifetime Achievement and Leadership Award recipients as well as its Hall of Fame inductees. They are:

Lifetime Achievement Award recipients:

Michael Barefoot & Tim Manale, A Southern Season

Dennis Deschaine, Al Dente Pasta Company 

George Gellert, Atalanta Corporation

Allison Hooper & Bob Reese, Vermont Creamery

Paula Lambert, Mozzarella Company

Leadership Award Winners:


Phil Meldrum, FoodMatch

Emerging Leader

Anna Hammond, Matriark Foods

Equity & Inclusion 

Antonio McBroom, Primo Partners

Outstanding Buyer

Paul Abbott, Giant Eagle


Paul Willis, Niman Ranch


Diego Silva, Avatar Natural Foods

Hall of Fame Inductees:

Jack Acree, Saffron Road Foods

Bob Bruno, RJ Bruno International

Gary Chandler, Chandler Food Sales 

Cristiano Creminelli, Creminelli Fine Meats/Charcuterie Artisans

Maha Freij, Three Little Pigs, Les Trois Petits Cochons

Phil Gatto, True Story Foods

Ron Tanner, Tanner Food Group