Message: Message Text

2013 Leadership Award Winners

The Specialty Food Association and Specialty Food Magazine present the three winners, and three runners-up, of the first annual Leadership Awards, launched to honor businesses that lead with their hearts. Whether creating a new economy for one of the poorest Native American reservations in the country, opening doors for farmers in Palestine, or establishing school-lunch programs for impoverished farming communities abroad, the winners of the Leadership Awards offer inspiration for everyone in—and beyond—our industry.

2013 Leadership Award winners and runners-up (from left): Allison Hooper, Vermont Butter & Cheese Creamery; Nasser Abufarha, Canaan Fair Trade LLC; Amit Hooda, Heavenly Organics; Shawn Askinosie, Askinosie Chocolate; Alex Whitmore, Taza Chocolate; Nick Tilsen, Native American Natural Foods

2013 Citizenship Award Winner

Nasser Abufara, founder, Canaan Fair Trade, Camas, Wash.

For improving the lives of people and communities by advancing environmental and social sustainability knowledge and practices Read more ...


2013 Business Leadership Award Winner

Shawn Askinosie, founder and owner, Askinosie Chocolate, Springfield, Mo.

For showing advanced best practices in the food industry Read more ...


2013 Vision Award Winner

Karlene Hunter, co-founder and chief executive, Native American Natural Foods, Kyle, S.D.

For pioneering new approaches, innovative products and business models that have set in motion positive change and progress. Read more ...